A New Perspective

Piggy Bank...Minus the Change

I have to admit, some of my favorite photography is in a “zoomed” perspective.  The way you can cram a frame with so much color and intensity, yet not the whole object is intriguing.

In my Digital Photography class at Loyola University Chicago, we just completed our first assignment, simply titled, Color.  Being such a broad subject left plenty of room for interpretation.

Personally, I have a passion of black and white photography and am more comfortable with just old school film.  So, yes, I had to step out of that comfort zone and use color, as well as my Nikon D3000 DSLR.

I was a tad nervous when first starting this project because not only do I really enjoy black and white photography, but over half of my wardrobe is black…Where would I find something so colorful with the weather being so gloomy and my taste in clothing not helping me whatsoever?

I shot over 200 pictures which sounds like a ton to most people, but to photographers it’s more like shooting only five.  With computer on color overload I searched through the picture that screamed at me most and sent them to the printer.  (We haven’t done much in Photoshop and didn’t need to for this project.  Plus, I’m happy with the photos not having being tweaked.)

Start to End

Like I said, I like a crammed frame and a zoomed perspective.  usually use a larger aperture allowing for more light to enter the lense – perfect for low lighting situations – and creates a more shallow depth of field – something in focus and something more blurry.  I love the focus of just one portion of an object because it usually lends a new way of viewing something that could be so typical.

Like I said, a new perspective.

Photos by ME!

About alboehm

I am currently a senior at Loyola University Chicago, majoring in Public Relations and Advertising as well as minoring in Photography. I was born and raised in the heart of St. Louis, MO but have fallen in love with Chicago. I have created this blog to share what I love about photography and what I have learned over the years. Currently I am just starting to dabble in digital photography whereas I have been using film in my classes for the past few semesters. I hope y'all enjoy! "There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer." ~ Ansel Adams
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Perspective

  1. photobyholly says:

    Nice color shots! You are very lucky to live in a wonderful city like Chicago, I love it there! There’s always something interesting just around the corner. It has definitely been one of my favorite places to photograph so far… unfortunately, it was all before I got my new camera, which is also the D3000. Now I need to go back and do it all over again! 🙂

    • alboehm says:

      That it is! There’s so much going on and so much to photograph, all you have to do is turn around and there’s something new.

  2. brunOliveira says:

    You also gave me a whole new perspective, and a few ideas ares starting to move, so you just got me brainstorming, and thank you so much for it. You’ve just made this day a bit better than it was going.
    Thank you a a happy new Year
    (i’ll be following your site from now on)

Leave a Reply

