Pet Photography

My loving mare, Dante. She's the best, by far. Even after all of the "goobers" that ended up on me after she was done nuzzling.

First and foremost, thanks so so much for helping my blog get “Freshly Pressed”.  I must say, waking up to hundreds of emails from WordPress.com had me rather confused, especially since I wasn’t aware of what “freshly pressed” meant.  Then I went to WordPress.com and what do ya know?  There’s my blog!  So thank you for all of your feedback and I’m pleased that everyone enjoyed my post so much.

So, as finals are approaching at school, I’ve found myself ahead of the game and not stressed out.  In four years, this is a first, I must say.  With that said, after all of the love I received in the past 48 on here, why not write another blog in all of my “spare time”?

The winter weather has given her one furry coat.

I am working on putting together a post about  candle-lit photography, but I need to go out and practice myself since I haven’t attempted this challenge in awhile, so stay posted.

Living in the heart of Chicago has made me appreciate living in a city, but I do miss going out to the barn, back in St. Louis.  I was lucky enough to go home over Thanksgiving and thought a mini photo shoot might be in order?  With the help of my friend Nicole and my photo editing, we compiled all of these images with my favorite mare.

This has probably become one of my all-time favorite pictures...EVER.

Since there were so many comments regarding the puppy shot in my last post, I thought this could be a little dedication to all of our most loyal companions as well.  There are a couple things to remember when shooting your pets.

  • Capture their personality – Photograph them in their “element”.  Whether you have the most lazy dog EVER and all he does is sleep, capture that.  Or if your cat can’t stop pawing at the TV, capture that.  We love them for our own reasons, so why not share it with everyone?
  • Get on their level – Since most of our pets are smaller then us, minus the 1,000 pound mare in my images, stoop down to their eye level.  Take shots of them from their own perspective and you’ll get some great results.
  • Experiments with different lenses – Some of the funniest pictures involve a fisheye lens and looking at an animal “head on”.  Or, try a zoom lens and capture the details of all that fur that ends up all over your house!

Let me know what you think!  And stay posted, a more in-depth “How To” post is in the making!  Perhaps this weekend???  Happy shooting!!!

Here’s a video I thought had some helpful tips.

About alboehm

I am currently a senior at Loyola University Chicago, majoring in Public Relations and Advertising as well as minoring in Photography. I was born and raised in the heart of St. Louis, MO but have fallen in love with Chicago. I have created this blog to share what I love about photography and what I have learned over the years. Currently I am just starting to dabble in digital photography whereas I have been using film in my classes for the past few semesters. I hope y'all enjoy! "There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer." ~ Ansel Adams
This entry was posted in Animals, Learning, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pet Photography

  1. Hurry up and do a new post! haha

  2. bas says:

    There’s nothing more challenging then taking pictures from animals and / or kids . The mistake I made in the past is waiting for “that special moment” , which was always far too short , or the “object” was moving around , frightened , turned the head or whatever …..
    So , what I am doing now is indeed , go to the same “level” and make shots whenever possible , and one or more images out of 100 will be a superb one . Play around with lenses , stops , focus , off course , and light . On my website I have several images of animals : a birth of a cat , hunting dogs , insects . Challenging and beautiful also . Since we have digital camera’s you can make as much images as you want , till you drain the battery 🙂 or your memorycard is full ………

  3. opticbard says:

    I love how you give a tip about capturing your pet’s personality, and you post a photo of the back of your horse.
    🙂

    Maybe because I don’t know horses well, but I have noticed the best photos of horses I have seen, including the third photo you posted, show the relationship of the horse and it’s owner. You clearly love that horse, and looking at these photos makes me think of my 16 year old niece who also has a special relationship with her horse.

Leave a Reply

